eARC Review – It Had To Be You by Georgia Clark

55436532. sy475

Title: It Had To Be You

Author: Georgia Clark

Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books

Publication date: May 4th, 2021

384 pages

4/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis

The author of the novel The Bucket List returns with a witty and heartfelt romantic comedy featuring a wedding planner, her unexpected business partner, and their coworkers in a series of linked love stories—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Casey McQuiston.

For the past twenty years, Liv and Eliot Goldenhorn have run In Love in New York, Brooklyn’s beloved wedding-planning business. When Eliot dies unexpectedly, he even more unexpectedly leaves half of the business to his younger, blonder girlfriend, Savannah. Liv and Savannah are not a match made in heaven, to say the least. But what starts as a personal and professional nightmare transforms into something even savvy, cynical Liv Goldenhorn couldn’t begin to imagine.

It Had to Be You cleverly unites Liv, Savannah, and couples as diverse and unique as New York City itself, in a joyous Love-Actually-style braided narrative. The result is a smart, modern love story that truly speaks to our times. Second chances, secret romance, and steamy soul mates are front and center in this sexy, tender, and utterly charming rom-com.

Review

It Had To Be You is the book version of the movie Valentine’s Day and I LOVED it. Going into this book I thought it would be one love story but I was surprised with MANY different love stories! Each character was interconnected with other characters and went through their own unique journey. This book is truly about the journey of life, the friends you meet along the way, and second chance romance.

It starts off with Savannah and Liv, brought together when Liv’s husband dies and leaves half of their wedding planning business to Savannah – his mistress. From these two unlikely business partners, several love stories off shoot with people in their lives (including their own love stories!). There is also a great story arc about a character questioning her sexual identity and discovering who she is.

I really found this book to be charming and dleightful, a breath of fresh air. Romance in similar, yet new forms. I recommend it for the romantics at heart, who love to read love stories of all shapes and sizes. However, many of the stories bring out very serious topics – interracial dating, open relationships, dating after abuse or mistreatment, etc. It hits on so many important, but real, topics.

TW: description of domestic violence, abuse

Thank you to Atria Books and Netgalley for an early copy in exchange for an honest review.

Happy reading, folks!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s