eARC Review – The House of Always by Jenn Lyons

55077705

Title: The House of Always (A Chorus of Dragons #4)

Author: Jenn Lyons

Publisher: Tor Books

Publication date: May 11th, 2021

544 pages

4/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis

For fans of Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss, The House of Always is the fourth epic fantasy in Jenn Lyons’ Chorus of Dragons series that began with The Ruin of Kings.

What if you were imprisoned for all eternity?

In the aftermath of the Ritual of Night, everything has changed.

The Eight Immortals have catastrophically failed to stop Kihrin’s enemies, who are moving forward with their plans to free Vol Karoth, the King of Demons. Kihrin has his own ideas about how to fight back, but even if he’s willing to sacrifice everything for victory, the cost may prove too high for his allies.

Now they face a choice: can they save the world while saving Kihrin, too? Or will they be forced to watch as he becomes the very evil they have all sworn to destroy.

Review

The fourth installment in the A Chorus of Dragons series picks up the gang’s story after the events of The Memory of Souls. As is usual for this series, the story is told in a very unique way – a combination of POV switching, flashbacks, and footnotes by the character writing the compilation after the events of the story. Each book in this series is told in a unique way, The House of Always being no different.

In this book, you get more perspectives, and different perspectives than you really have in previous books. All the big players across the first three books are in this book, whereas in the past they’ve been separated. In the usual fashion of this series, The House of Always is complex, epic, and very fast-paced. There is a lot of action due to the flashbacks, and a lot of previous events are explained during this book – which is helpful for overall comprehension.

This series is decidedly adult, epic fantasy so if that isn’t your jam – this book may be confusing and hard to follow. There are so many fantasy elements in this series that it will appeal to those folks who love fantasy more than anything else, like me!

Thank you to Tor Books and Netgalley for an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Happy reading, folks!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s