Book Review – All The Stars and Teeth

Title: All The Stars and Teeth (All The Stars and Teeth #1)

Author: Adalyn Grace

Publisher: Imprint

Publication date: February 4th, 2020

373 pages

4/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis

Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice.

She will reign.

As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer — the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it’s never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy’s dangerous soul magic.

When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he’ll help her prove she’s fit to rule, if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic.

But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder — and more peril — than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she’ll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stow-away she never expected… or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever.

I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.

Review

“Fear is a part of life; all the matters is what we do with it.”

adalyn grace, all the stars and teeth

All The Stars and Teeth is a very typical YA fantasy, but that shouldn’t be a reason not to read this book. Even though it is somewhat predictable, following the typical YA structure, it has a unique premise and interesting story line. The magic system is different and has a lot of history. Towards the end, the story got somewhat confusing as it dove into the past and what happened to cause the issues in the present, I had to read it pretty carefully for it all to make sense.

I enjoy the characters in this book, especially Bastian and the surprise mermaid character who is so sassy and amazing. Amora is a decent MC but I prefer Bastian because I think he has a slightly more compelling backstory. I think the subtle romance between the two was well done and I look forward to reading more about them in the second book (I need Bastian to be okay, alright?).

There isn’t a huge cliffhanger in this book, but it definitely gets you hyped for the second book! Even though it is a predictable writing style, I am highly anticipating the release of the second book, All The Tides of Fate, in 2021! For fans of Daughter of the Pirate King and Fable, All The Stars and Teeth is a solid YA Fantasy option with an absolutely beautiful (and Instagrammable) cover!

Happy reading, folks!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s