eARC Review – Sisters of Sword and Song

Title: Sisters of Sword & Song

Author: Rebecca Ross

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication date: June 23rd, 2020

432 pages

4.5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis

From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives.

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death.

Review

**Thank you to HarperTeen, Edelweiss, and Rebecca Ross for an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review**

Sisters of Sword and Song is a Greek mythology inspired tale of two sisters, separated by abilities. Halcyon was sent to the capital at an early age to become a warrior, a soldier in the Bronze Legion. Evadne dreamed of greatness, of having magic run through her veins, only to grow up magicless and living as part of a disgraced God’s bloodline. These two sisters are very different, but their tale will intertwine and come together in the most beautiful way.

I adored this book SO MUCH. Told in alternating POV’s, Evadne and Halcyon’s stories were heartbreaking and restorative all at once. The first chapter draws you in and you can’t escape the weaving of the story. Ross’ writing is gorgeous and unparalleled.

One thing I would say it that I wanted MORE. This book easily could have been a duology, and I would have loved to see parts of the world explored in more depth. There could have been more on the magic system, the search for the lost relics, and Halcyon’s time in the Bronze Legion. It worked well as a standalone, but I 100% would have loved it as a duo.

For fans of YA Fantasy, magic, a Hunger Games-esque tale of sisterhood, and Greek Mythology; Sister’s of Sword and Song will captivate and entrance you in a world where the fight against evil is one you can’t win without major sacrifices.

Happy reading, folks!

1 thought on “eARC Review – Sisters of Sword and Song”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s