Book Review – Ember Queen

“There’s no shame in breaking…You just have to put yourself back together again.”

Title: Ember Queen (Ash Princess #3)

Author: Laura Sebastian

Publisher: Delacourte Books for Young Readers

Publication date: February 4th, 2020

512 pages

5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis

The thrilling conclusion to the series that began with the instant New York Times bestseller “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court. But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo’s blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned nothing else from her mother, she learned that a Queen never cowers. 

Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin. Imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way. 

The Kaiserin’s strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart’s sister.

Review

You aren’t useless. You have your mind, you have your determination. 

ember queen, laura sebastian

I have waited for the conclusion of the Ash Princess series since 2018, ever since I first read Ash Princess and fell in love. Theo is one of my fave characters all time, and I thoroughly enjoyed this conclusion to the trilogy. Ember Queen is a great conclusion that wraps up the story line but still throws some fun twists in for the readers along with extending the plot line from Lady Smoke.

Ember Queen continues Theo’s story of trying to regain her family’s throne in Astrea, that was overtaken by the Kalovaxian Kaiser many years ago. Theo is strong and capable, while trying to be a fair and just ruler. Her rebellion is going strong, but there are some kinks that need to be worked out. The real issue is of the Kaiserin, who has some new powers that no one really understands. Theo must use all of her wits and powers to make her rebellion a success.

It’s hard to write a review for an end book without giving away and spoilers! So, this is the best I can do. I enjoy where Theo’s romantic relationship ended up. It seemed like a fitting end for her romance throughout the books, and is something that isn’t too easy. The writing is as wonderful as the others, and this series will just continue to be one of my favorites.

I am very excited to read more of Laura’s work, both adult and YA. Can’t wait!

Happy reading, folks!

1 thought on “Book Review – Ember Queen”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s